CSA announce changes to Proteas women’s West Indies squad

Faye Tunnicliffe in action for the South Africa Emerging side earlier this year.

Faye Tunnicliffe in action for the South Africa Emerging side earlier this year.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Sunday confirmed that Trisha Chetty and Shabnim Ismail will not form part of the touring Proteas women’s squad to the West Indies as previously announced.

Chetty suffered a disc protrusion on her lower back and has been ruled out of the three-match ODI and five-match T20 outing. Ismail has pulled out due to family responsibility after her father fell gravely ill.

Nineteen-year-old Faye Tunnicliffe will replace Chetty, while selectors have opted not to replace Ismail. The Western Province wicket-keeper/batter will join Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle and Saarah Smith on the list of fresh faces added to the national side.

The team depart for the West Indies today on British Airways flight BA54 from OR Tambo International at 21:10.

Proteas squad to West Indies: Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Chloe Tryon (vice-captain, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Lizelle Lee (North West), Suné Luus (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Faye Tunnicliffe (Western Province), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Saarah Smith (Western Province).

Management: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Salieg Nackerdien (Assistant Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Manager), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Russell Clarke (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Sipokazi Sokanyile (Media Liaison).

Tour Schedule

Sunday, 16 September: 1st IWC ODI – Kensington Oval
Wednesday, 19 September: 2nd IWC ODI – Kensington Oval
Saturday, 22 September: 3rd IWC ODI – Kensington Oval
Monday, 24 September: 1st T20I – Kensington Oval
Friday, 28 September: 2nd T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy
Sunday, 30 September: 3rd T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy
Wednesday, 03 October: 4th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy
Saturday, 06 October: 5th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy