Proteas women elect to bat in World Cup semi-final

Dane van Niekerk

Dane van Niekerk

Momentum Proteas captain, Dane van Niekerk has won the toss and elected to bat first in the first ICC Women’s World Cup semi-final against England in Bristol.

South Africa are fielding a fully fit team, with Chloe Tryon returning in place of Masabata Klaas in the only team change.

The team hope to make Proteas history today and qualify for a World Cup final for the first time.

This match will be broadcast live on SuperSport 6 at 11:30 (SAST).

Live scoring will be available on Cricket South Africa’s social media platforms; Facebook ( and Twitter (

Momentum Proteas team:

Dané van Niekerk (capt, Eastern Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Lizelle Lee (North West), Trisha Chetty (wk, Gauteng), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal), Sune Luus (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Moseline Daniels (Boland), Aayabonga Khaka (Border).

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite and Paul Wilson; Third umpire: Christopher Brown; Fourth umpire: S. Saikat.

Match Referee: Steve Bernard.