Ismail, Luus set up Proteas women’s victory & Super Sixes place

Shabnim Ismail in action.

Shabnim Ismail in action.

Shabnim Ismail and Suné Luus took six wickets between them to set up victory by six wickets for the Momentum Proteas women in their match against Bangladesh at the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers in Colombo on Saturday. South Africa have officially secured their place in the Super Sixes stage of the tournament, topping the Group B log with six points, two points ahead of number two, Pakistan.

Player of the match, Ismail took a remarkable 3/14, while Luus took an equally impressive 3/17 to bowl the opposition out for 100 in 46.5 overs after they were asked to field first. Openers Sharmin Sultana and Sharmin Akhter lost their wickets without scoring but captain, Rumana Ahmed top scored with a 93-ball 39 runs to get them to a slightly more respectable score after they were struggling on 89/7 in the 38th over.

South Africa captain, Dané van Niekerk (2/22) took two wickets with Marizanne Kapp (1/11) chipping in with one. While they did not take any wickets, Ayabonga Khaka and Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo bowled well, returning figures of 0/21 in eight and 0/12 in three overs respectively, rounding off an excellent bowling effort.

Lizelle Lee and Lara Wolvaardt (30) got the reply off to a solid start with a 50-run opening stand before the loss of the former for 34. Trisha Chetty and Chloe Tryon added 14 runs each to help the side to an easy win in the end with a little over 24 overs to spare.

The Proteas’ last group match will be against Papua New Guinea on Monday, 13 February.

Momentum Proteas World Cup Qualifiers squad:
Dane Van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Trisha Chetty (wicketkeeper, Gauteng), Moseline Daniels (Boland), Mignon Du Preez (Northerns), Yolani Fourie (Gauteng), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Border), Lizelle Lee (North West), Matshipi Letsoalo (Northerns), Sune Luus (Northerns), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal) and Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province).
Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager). Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Salieg Nackerdien (Assistant Coach), Russell Clarke (Fitness Trainer).

Group A – India, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand
Group B – South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea

Tournament fixtures (first round)
Monday, 13 February – Zimbabwe v India, P.Sara Stadium; Sri Lanka v Thailand, MCA; South Africa v PNG, NCC; Pakistan v Scotland, CCC

Super Six stage (teams to be confirmed after 13 February matches)
Wednesday, 15 February – Match 21, P.Sara Stadium; Match 22, NCC; Match 23, CCC
Friday, 17 February – Match 24, P.Sara Stadium; Match 25, NCC; Match 26, CCC
Sunday, 19 February – Match 27, P.Sara Stadium; Match 28, NCC; Match 29, CCC
Tuesday, 21 February - FINAL