Paterson added to Proteas squad as cover for Pretorius

Dane Paterson

Dane Paterson

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) has retained the 14-man Standard Bank Proteas squad that won the Momentum ODI Series against Sri Lanka for the limited overs portion of the upcoming tour of New Zealand that consists of one T20 International match and five One-Day International matches.

They have, however, added Dane Paterson to the squad as cover for Dwaine Pretorius for the T20 International as well as the first ODI. Pretorius will miss these two matches to be at home with his wife who is expecting their first child.

Paterson made his Standard Bank Proteas debut in the KFC T20 International series against Sri Lanka but has yet to be capped in the 50 overs format.

“Dane will travel with the squad when they leave on Saturday and will return to South Africa once Dwaine joins the squad,” commented CSA selection chief, Linda Zondi. “We, as selectors are very happy with the way the squad has jelled over the past 6 months and consistency in selection is very important as we continue our build-up towards the ICC Champions Trophy tournament.

“New Zealand are playing very good cricket at the moment and as always will provide very tough opposition, particularly under their home conditions.”

Mr. Zondi confirmed that Lungi Ngidi had not recovered from his injury to be considered but that David Miller was fully fit to travel.

Standard Bank Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans, ODI capt), Faf du Plessis (Multiply Titans, T20 capt), Hashim Amla (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Multiply Titans), JP Duminy (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Imran Tahir (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (VKB Knights), Chris Morris (Multiply Titans), Wayne Parnell (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Dane Paterson (BuildNat Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans).