Miller leads SAA to comfortable win

David Miller’s unbeaten century led South Africa A to a comfortable, five-wicket win over Australia’s National Performance Squad in their final Quadrangular One-Day Series group match in Mackay on Thursday.

The Proteas middle-order batsman made 124 (104 balls, 9 fours, 6 sixes) as the tourists chased down a tough, 288-victory target with 21 balls to spare.

The match at Ray Mitchell Oval, Harrup Park was a dead rubber with India A and Australia A having already progressed to Sunday’s final, but the South Africans managed to achieve the satisfaction of finishing ahead of the NPS on the log standings.

Miller, who was captain for the match, lost the toss at the start and watched as the home side piled on 287/7. Sam Heazlett top-scored with 73 (63 balls, 6 fours, 4 sixes), while Caleb Jewell also hit a half-century, making a more patient 62 (94 balls, 5 fours) opening the batting.

Tabraiz Shamsi was the most successful bowler with 2/68, but there were also impressive spells from Dwaine Pretorius (1/32) and Theunis de Bruyn (1/33) – the former, one of South Africa’s most consistent performers on the tour, sending down eight overs and the latter bowling his full quota of 10.

Reeza Hendricks (31) and Khaya Zondo (18) put on 50 for the first wicket to give their team some sort of platform. The pair, along with De Bruyn (9) then all fell within the space of 13 runs as the tourists slipped to 62/3.

Miller combined well with Qaasim Adams (44) first and then Dane Vilas (45) to compile his fifth List A century that took the South Africans to victory with more than three overs to spare.

The two teams will meet again in the third/fourth place play-off on Saturday.