Match Over - Pakistan won by 6 wickets + Match Details

Match Details

  • Toss: Australia, who chose to bat
  • Venue: Harare Sports Club
  • Referee: JJ Crowe
  • When: 08 Jul 2018, 10:00 SAST
  • Winner: Pakistan


  • Umpire1: RB Tiffin
  • Umpire2: L Rusere
  • Third Umpire: TJ Matibiri



Overs: 20.0 / 20.0




Overs: 19.2 / 20.0


1.21pm There it is. Pakistan seal their highest successful chase to win the tri-series title. Notably, this is their ninth successive T20I series win. Sarfraz runs onto the field and embraces Asif Ali and the uber-cool Shoaib Malik. Australia's openers Finch and Short ran away to 95 for 0 but some excellent end-overs bowling sparked a collapse as Australia lost 8 for 88. Fakhar Zaman then led the chase with a blistering 91 off 46 balls. Stick around for the presentation, ladies and gents.

Bilal: "Wait!!What?? I saw the Australian innings and thought match over Pakistan can't chase and went to sleep, now I've woken up to see this win, come on Pakistan you can't do this to me."

Finch: I thought we should have got around 200 and we just kept losing the wickets, which stalled the momentum. Pakistan played well. Yeah, I thought we started well with the ball. Fakhar Zaman played one hell of a knock. A 90-odd in a T20 game is hard to beat.

Zaman, Player of the Match and Player of the Series: I like these pitches. From the first game, I was in form. I have played here in 2016, the wickets were not that good then. Hard work in nets is the main thing. I take time at the start and play my natural game. After we lost two wickets, I told Safi I will play my natural game. Australia played well. Congratulations to my team

Sarfraz: It's a great team effort. Credit to the bowlers. Then Fakhar Zaman and Malik finished it for us. There were some dropped catches but we took the momentum in the second innings. The way Fakhar is batting and the whole tournament he and Malik batting well. Credit to the boys and management.

Sarfraz collects the trophy and is joined by his team-mates. There's the No. 1 T20I team. That's a wrap of this tri-series. Goodbye

Marshall Raja: "Aus seriously need to have a look at their squad. They need some solidity in their Middle Order and some skill in their bowling. Need to go for a specialist spinner. Agar is neither a batting all-rounder nor a bowling all-rounder."

Shahrukh: "What a way to chase highest total ever! From 2/2 to 187/4. This is why No.1."

Adeel Sheikh: "It happened 2nd time in past 1 year. The team gave Pakistan a humiliating defeat in league game got beaten by them in the Final of the same tournament. First India in CT2017 now Aussies in Tri Series. Fakhar the man once again!"

Ali Hasni: "Today Pakistan played like Australians and Aussie played like Pakistan, such a professional turnaround, never expected!!"

19.2MP Stoinis to Asif Ali, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, Pakistan clinch the tri-series in Zimbabwe! Back of a length and outside off, slower offcutter from Stoinis, Asif Ali reads it and slugs it away wide of deep midwicket for four.
19.1MP Stoinis to Shoaib Malik, 1 run, back of a length and outside off, muscled away to long-on.
End of over 19. 9 runs this over. 182/4 after 114 balls.
Asif Ali 13 (10b 0x4 1x6 ) AJ Tye 4-0-33-0
Shoaib Malik 42 (36b 3x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 18. 17 runs this over. 173/4 after 108 balls.
Asif Ali 10 (8b 0x4 1x6 ) JA Richardson 4-0-29-1
Shoaib Malik 36 (32b 2x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 17. 2 runs this over. 156/4 after 102 balls.
Asif Ali 1 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) AJ Tye 3-0-24-0
Shoaib Malik 28 (29b 2x4 0x6 ) more

Mubashir: "Wait guys another twist is coming in this match, as we all know.. Pak predictably unpredictable."

End of over 16. 6 runs this over. 154/3 after 95 balls.
Shoaib Malik 27 (28b 2x4 0x6 ) JA Richardson 3-0-12-0
Fakhar Zaman 91 (45b 12x4 3x6 ) more

Cameron: "Pakistain- WOW- This is why the neutrals always love watching you play. Delightfully predictably unpredictable. "

End of over 15. 12 runs this over. 148/3 after 90 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 90 (44b 12x4 3x6 ) MP Stoinis 2-0-26-0
Shoaib Malik 23 (24b 2x4 0x6 ) more

Surjithbhaskar: "Fakhar Zaman is the difference again in a final. He is the biggest find for Pakistan cricket"

End of over 14. 9 runs this over. 136/3 after 84 balls.
Shoaib Malik 21 (22b 2x4 0x6 ) B Stanlake 4-0-25-0
Fakhar Zaman 80 (40b 10x4 3x6 ) more
End of over 13. 15 runs this over. 127/3 after 78 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 73 (37b 10x4 2x6 ) AJ Tye 2-0-22-0
Shoaib Malik 20 (19b 2x4 0x6 ) more

Marshall Raja: "Slower ball should be a variation. In Tye's case it is his stock ball which becomes quite predictable. "

End of over 12. 17 runs this over. 112/3 after 72 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 63 (33b 8x4 2x6 ) AC Agar 1-0-16-0
Shoaib Malik 15 (17b 1x4 0x6 ) more

Najam: "From 2/2 to 112/3... Only Pakistan could give such a surprise"

End of over 11. 11 runs this over. 90/3 after 64 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 45 (26b 6x4 1x6 ) JD Wildermuth 0-0-11-0
Shoaib Malik 14 (16b 1x4 0x6 ) more

Daniyal: "Pakistan's batting has improved considerably over the past year or so, but they seem to be relying too much on the likes of Fakhar Zaman and Shoaib Malik. You can add Babar Azam into the mix as well. I think the big positive for them in this series has been Asif Ali. The No. 3 spot also seems to be up for grabs."

End of over 10. 5 runs this over. 79/3 after 60 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 41 (24b 5x4 1x6 ) B Stanlake 3-0-17-0
Shoaib Malik 9 (14b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 9. 11 runs this over. 74/3 after 54 balls.
Fakhar Zaman 38 (21b 5x4 1x6 ) GJ Maxwell 3-0-35-2
Shoaib Malik 7 (11b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 8. 14 runs this over. 63/3 after 48 balls.
Shoaib Malik 1 (7b 0x4 0x6 ) MP Stoinis 1-0-14-0
Fakhar Zaman 33 (19b 4x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 7. 1 runs this over. 49/3 after 42 balls.
Shoaib Malik 0 (6b 0x4 0x6 ) JA Richardson 2-0-6-0
Fakhar Zaman 20 (14b 3x4 0x6 ) more

Brutus_Shylock: "Don't like to be over-critical here, because sarfaraz's aim is right, but before criticizing others, sarf needs to work on his own fitness, that was a clear 3 by any Intl standards, poor awareness and running by sarfaraz Ahmed. "

End of over 6. 7 runs this over. 48/3 after 36 balls.
Shoaib Malik 0 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) AJ Tye 1-0-7-0
Fakhar Zaman 19 (11b 3x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 5. 5 runs this over. 41/2 after 30 balls.
Sarfraz Ahmed 22 (17b 3x4 1x6 ) JA Richardson 1-0-5-0
Fakhar Zaman 18 (10b 3x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 4. 10 runs this over. 36/2 after 24 balls.
Sarfraz Ahmed 17 (11b 2x4 1x6 ) B Stanlake 2-0-12-0
Fakhar Zaman 18 (10b 3x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 3. 21 runs this over. 26/2 after 18 balls.
Sarfraz Ahmed 12 (7b 1x4 1x6 ) GJ Maxwell 2-0-24-2
Fakhar Zaman 13 (8b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 2. 2 runs this over. 5/2 after 12 balls.
Sarfraz Ahmed 2 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) B Stanlake 1-0-2-0
Fakhar Zaman 2 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 1. 3 runs this over. 3/2 after 5 balls.
Sarfraz Ahmed 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) GJ Maxwell 1-0-3-2
Fakhar Zaman 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) more
Fakhar ZamanC NJ Maddinson B JA Richardson9146123197.83
Sahibzada FarhanSt. AT Carey GJ Maxwell0000-
Hussain TalatC JA Richardson B GJ Maxwell0300-
Sarfraz AhmedRun out JA Richardson,AJ Tye 281941147.37
Shoaib Maliknot out 433731116.22
Asif Alinot out 171111154.55
Faheem Ashraf -
Shadab Khan -
Mohammad Amir -
Hasan Ali -
Shaheen Shah Afridi -
Total 187/4
GJ Maxwell3.0035211.67
B Stanlake4.002506.25
JA Richardson4.002917.25
AJ Tye4.003308.25
MP Stoinis2.2031013.29
JD Wildermuth1.0016016
AC Agar1.0016016