Match Over - Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets + Match Details

Match Details

  • Toss: Bangladesh, who chose to bat
  • Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka
  • Referee: DC Boon
  • When: 15 Feb 2018, 13:00 SAST
  • Winner: Sri Lanka
  • Man of the Match: BKG Mendis


  • Umpire1: Anisur Rahman
  • Umpire2: Sharfuddoula
  • Third Umpire: Masudur Rahman



Overs: 20.0 / 20.0




Overs: 16.4 / 20.0

Sri Lanka

8.33pm That's all from Mirpur today. Lots of fours and sixes as Sri Lanka go 1-0 up in the two-match series. How will Bangladesh come back? Join us in Sylhet for the series' final game in a couple of days to find out. For now, it's bye bye from Deiva Muthu and Sreshth Shah. Hope you enjoyed ESPNcricinfo's coverage of this match. See you.

8.27pm We're ready with the presentation.

Losing captain Mahmudullah, first up. He says: "I think we were 10-15 runs short. We should've scored over 200. Mushi at No. 3 was quite a bit of change, but Soumya and Zakir started well. Credit goes to the SL batters, though, and we didn't apply enough pressure. Having Arif and the others gives us a bit more depth in the batting, but we didn't execute our lengths with the ball. Hope to finish the season on a high in Sylhet."

Winning captain Dinesh Chandimal is here now. He says: "We didn't think the wicket will be this good. It was a good toss to lose, and credit goes to the batsmen - they played outstanding cricket. It's never easy chasing 194 in any wicket. Before the game started, our plan was to keep right-left combination going. At the same time, we tried keeping a power hitter: that's what we did, and glad it worked. Kusal, Gunathilaka, Thisara, Dasun were excellent. We all know Bangladesh are really good at home, so we never underestimate them."

Kusal Mendis is the Man of the Match. He says: "Very happy to get these runs. Yes, at the start, I wasn't in the XI, but the staff helped me prepare for today's game. I was told to play my normal game (like in ODIs), and I did exactly that."

8.18pm Sri Lanka chase down 194, their highest successful chase in T20 cricket, to take a 1-0 lead in this T20 series. It's also the highest score chased down in Bangladesh. Lots of records broken today by both teams, but Sri Lanka the happier side. The pitch was excellent for batting, and Bangladesh, despite scoring 193, were 15 runs short. Gunathilaka and Thisara went at a strike-rate of over 200, and Shanaka held the innings together with a well composed 42.The teams shake hands as the batsmen make their way into the pavillion. The team that bowled slightly better take the win at Mirpur. Five Bangladesh bowlers went for over 10 runs per over. The debutant Nazmul, though, was impressive with figures of 2-25. Where did Bangladesh go wrong then? Hopefully Mahmudullah can shed some light during the presentation ceremony.

Tharindu: "hardest question of the day "the man of the match?""

16.4Rubel Hossain to MD Shanaka, 1 run, back of a length outside off, punched to cover for a quick run.. and there's the win! Sri Lanka win by six wickets..
16.4Rubel Hossain to MD Shanaka, WIDE, BOUNDARY, 5 runs, short outside off, too short in fact! The batsman misses the pull, and neither can the keeper hold on to it. Mushi tries to jump and grab the ball, but the extra zip off the surface means that's five runs. Scores are level..
16.3Rubel Hossain to NLTC Perera, 1 run, yorker on off stump, driven to deep extra cover. They walk across for the single.
16.2Rubel Hossain to NLTC Perera, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, Thisara backs away towards the leg side, and Rubel follows! Good length outside leg, but the batsman can still manage to swipe this away. Muscled towards the leg side, and finds the cow corner boundary. Two men in the deep there, but neither had any chance.
16.1Rubel Hossain to MD Shanaka, 1 run, back of a length outside off, tries the cross-batted shot, but comes off the bat's top half. Drops safe near mid on though.
16.1Rubel Hossain to MD Shanaka, WIDE, 1 run, full on middle and leg, but slides down the leg side. He's got to bowl that one again.
End of over 16. 14 runs this over. 181/4 after 96 balls.
NLTC Perera 34 (16b 3x4 3x6 ) Afif Hossain 2-0-26-1
MD Shanaka 40 (22b 3x4 3x6 ) more
End of over 15. 7 runs this over. 161/4 after 89 balls.
NLTC Perera 22 (11b 2x4 2x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 3-0-26-0
MD Shanaka 33 (20b 3x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 14. 19 runs this over. 154/4 after 84 balls.
NLTC Perera 17 (7b 1x4 2x6 ) Rubel Hossain 3-0-39-1
MD Shanaka 32 (19b 3x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 13. 5 runs this over. 135/4 after 78 balls.
NLTC Perera 4 (4b 1x4 0x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 2-0-19-0
MD Shanaka 26 (16b 2x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 12. 7 runs this over. 130/4 after 71 balls.
MD Shanaka 25 (13b 2x4 2x6 ) Rubel Hossain 2-0-20-1
NLTC Perera 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 11. 14 runs this over. 123/3 after 66 balls.
MD Shanaka 23 (11b 2x4 2x6 ) Mohammad Saifuddin 2-0-33-0
N Dickwella 7 (6b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 10. 10 runs this over. 103/3 after 59 balls.
MD Shanaka 8 (7b 0x4 1x6 ) Mahmudullah 2-0-17-0
N Dickwella 2 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) more

Sreshth will take you home. Cheers

End of over 9. 3 runs this over. 93/3 after 54 balls.
MD Shanaka 1 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) Nazmul Islam 4-0-25-2
N Dickwella 0 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 8. 13 runs this over. 90/2 after 47 balls.
BKG Mendis 53 (27b 8x4 2x6 ) Afif Hossain 1-0-13-1
WU Tharanga 3 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 7. 10 runs this over. 77/1 after 42 balls.
BKG Mendis 42 (23b 7x4 1x6 ) Nazmul Islam 3-0-23-1
WU Tharanga 2 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 6. 14 runs this over. 67/1 after 36 balls.
WU Tharanga 1 (2b 0x4 0x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 1-0-14-0
BKG Mendis 34 (19b 7x4 0x6 ) more

Kushansri: "Dickwella should be the man to come out.. chandimal missed a trick here not sending him ahead of tharanga..."

End of over 5. 6 runs this over. 53/1 after 30 balls.
WU Tharanga 0 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) Nazmul Islam 2-0-14-1
BKG Mendis 21 (14b 4x4 0x6 ) more


End of over 4. 13 runs this over. 47/0 after 24 balls.
BKG Mendis 16 (12b 3x4 0x6 ) Rubel Hossain 1-0-13-0
MD Gunathilaka 29 (12b 6x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 3. 7 runs this over. 34/0 after 18 balls.
MD Gunathilaka 20 (8b 4x4 0x6 ) Mahmudullah 1-0-7-0
BKG Mendis 12 (10b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 2. 18 runs this over. 26/0 after 11 balls.
MD Gunathilaka 13 (4b 3x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Saifuddin 1-0-18-0
BKG Mendis 11 (7b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 1. 7 runs this over. 7/0 after 5 balls.
MD Gunathilaka 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) Nazmul Islam 1-0-7-0
BKG Mendis 5 (4b 1x4 0x6 ) more
BKG MendisC Soumya Sarkar B Afif Hossain532782196.3
MD GunathilakaSt. Mushfiqur Rahim Nazmul Islam301560200
WU TharangaC Afif Hossain B Nazmul Islam470057.14
MD Shanakanot out 422433175
N DickwellaC Mohammad Saifuddin B Rubel Hossain11920122.22
NLTC Pereranot out 391843216.67
LD Chandimal -
BMAJ Mendis -
A Dananjaya -
DSK Madushanka -
I Udana -
Total 194/4
Nazmul Islam4.002526.25
Mohammad Saifuddin2.0033016.5
Rubel Hossain3.4052114.18
Mustafizur Rahman3.0032010.67
Afif Hossain2.0026113