Match Over - India won by 88 runs + Match Details

Match Details

  • Toss: Sri Lanka, who chose to bat
  • Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
  • Referee: JJ Crowe
  • When: 22 Dec 2017, 15:30 SAST
  • Winner: India
  • Man of the Match: RG Sharma


  • Umpire1: CK Nandan
  • Umpire2: AK Chaudhary
  • Third Umpire: Nitin Menon



Overs: 20.0 / 20.0




Overs: 17.2 / 20.0

Sri Lanka

10.20pm As soon as India posted that score, it was always going to be a hard task, but all credit to them for going after it. They could have petered out to 200 and played out 20 overs, but they kept attacking, looking to win. Kusal Perera and Upul Tharanga played terrific hands, but the target was too steep even on this surface, with short boundaries. Sri Lanka succeeded against wristspin for a while, but then they capitulated to it, losing seven of their nine wickets to it.

Rohit Sharma is the Man of the Match: "The stage was set, good conditions to bat. Was trying to do what I do, hit through the line. It came off really well. Went out there and had some fun. That's too much to ask (a double-hundred). Any target here is not defendable, KL is in great form. There is a template to my batting, which I follow. Try to hold my shape."

Thisara Perera: "It's a tough series. Too much to chase. We couldn't execute. Mathews, I think is now out of the series."

Kuldeep Yadav: "I was thinking for wickets. If I get, I'll probably get the second. The wicket was very good to bat on, trying to bowl wider and different angles. Later, I realised if I bowl slower, I'll get wickets."

17.2HH Pandya to PVD Chameera, OUT, No run, a straight ball finishes the game and the series. It's the slower ball around middle and leg, Chameera fails to connect with a flick and knocks back middle and leg stump. India take the T20 series with an 88-run win in Indore.
17.1HH Pandya to PVD Chameera, No run, full outside off, Chameera comes down but fails to connect with his swing across the line.
End of over 17. 1 runs this over. 172/8 after 102 balls.
N Pradeep 0 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) JJ Bumrah 3-0-21-0
PVD Chameera 3 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) more

SL effectively nine down, because it's unlikely Mathews will bat

End of over 16. 8 runs this over. 170/7 after 94 balls.
A Dananjaya 5 (2b 1x4 0x6 ) YS Chahal 3-0-51-3
PVD Chameera 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) more

DEBADYUTI SAHU: "SL 18/6 in 13balls of wist spin. Check mate"

End of over 15. 6 runs this over. 161/5 after 89 balls.
DAS Gunaratne 0 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) Kuldeep Yadav 4-0-51-3
S Samarawickrama 5 (2b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 14. 13 runs this over. 155/2 after 83 balls.
MDKJ Perera 77 (35b 4x4 7x6 ) YS Chahal 3-0-43-1
NLTC Perera 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more

Mistaa: "The most number of runs scored in a T20I match is 489, 400 runs have scored in this match till now, can this record be broken today??"

End of over 13. 16 runs this over. 142/1 after 78 balls.
WU Tharanga 45 (27b 3x4 2x6 ) Kuldeep Yadav 3-0-45-0
MDKJ Perera 67 (32b 3x4 6x6 ) more
End of over 12. 14 runs this over. 126/1 after 72 balls.
MDKJ Perera 52 (27b 1x4 5x6 ) YS Chahal 2-0-30-0
WU Tharanga 44 (26b 3x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 11. 10 runs this over. 112/1 after 66 balls.
MDKJ Perera 39 (22b 0x4 4x6 ) HH Pandya 3-0-23-0
WU Tharanga 43 (25b 3x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 10. 10 runs this over. 96/1 after 59 balls.
WU Tharanga 36 (22b 3x4 1x6 ) YS Chahal 1-0-10-0
MDKJ Perera 31 (18b 0x4 3x6 ) more
End of over 9. 9 runs this over. 86/1 after 54 balls.
WU Tharanga 28 (20b 3x4 0x6 ) HH Pandya 2-0-14-0
MDKJ Perera 30 (15b 0x4 3x6 ) more
End of over 8. 11 runs this over. 77/1 after 48 balls.
MDKJ Perera 26 (12b 0x4 3x6 ) Kuldeep Yadav 2-0-29-0
WU Tharanga 23 (17b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 7. 5 runs this over. 66/1 after 42 balls.
MDKJ Perera 17 (8b 0x4 2x6 ) HH Pandya 1-0-5-0
WU Tharanga 21 (15b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 6. 19 runs this over. 61/1 after 36 balls.
MDKJ Perera 14 (5b 0x4 2x6 ) Kuldeep Yadav 1-0-18-0
WU Tharanga 19 (12b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 5. 6 runs this over. 42/1 after 30 balls.
MDKJ Perera 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) JD Unadkat 3-0-22-1
WU Tharanga 14 (10b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 4. 6 runs this over. 33/0 after 22 balls.
N Dickwella 24 (15b 2x4 1x6 ) JJ Bumrah 1-0-17-0
WU Tharanga 7 (7b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 3. 11 runs this over. 27/0 after 18 balls.
N Dickwella 23 (13b 2x4 1x6 ) JD Unadkat 2-0-16-0
WU Tharanga 4 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 2. 11 runs this over. 16/0 after 12 balls.
N Dickwella 13 (8b 0x4 1x6 ) JJ Bumrah 1-0-11-0
WU Tharanga 3 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 1. 5 runs this over. 5/0 after 6 balls.
N Dickwella 3 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) JD Unadkat 1-0-5-0
WU Tharanga 2 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) more
N DickwellaC HH Pandya B JD Unadkat251921131.58
WU TharangaC YS Chahal B YS Chahal472932162.07
MDKJ PereraC MK Pandey B Kuldeep Yadav773747208.11
NLTC PereraC HH Pandya B Kuldeep Yadav0100-
DAS GunaratneSt. MS Dhoni Kuldeep Yadav0100-
S SamarawickramaSt. MS Dhoni YS Chahal5210250
PC de SilvaB YS Chahal120050
A DananjayaC MK Pandey B YS Chahal5310166.67
PVD ChameeraB HH Pandya350060
N Pradeepnot out 0500-
AD Mathews -
Total 172/10
JD Unadkat3.002217.33
JJ Bumrah3.002107
Kuldeep Yadav4.0052313
HH Pandya3.202316.9
YS Chahal4.0052413