Match Over - New Zealand won by 7 wickets + Match Details

Match Details

  • Toss: New Zealand, who chose to bat
  • Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
  • Referee: RB Richardson
  • When: 22 Jan 2018, 05:00 SAST
  • Winner: New Zealand
  • Man of the Match: C Munro


  • Umpire1: CM Brown
  • Umpire2: WR Knights
  • Third Umpire: SB Haig



Overs: 15.5 / 20.0

New Zealand



Overs: 19.4 / 20.0


7.00pm That was a disappointing performance from Pakistan, and even though they fought back really well in the second innings, their batting was a major let-down. New Zealand, as usual, clinical in execution, struggled early, so they switched their approach to caution and accumulation.

And when they were in sight, Munro launched. He would have become just the third batsman to four consecutive T20I fifties, but was denied it by one run. It was a tough pitch to play cricket on, with plenty in it for the bowlers. But for the sixth straight time on this tour, New Zealand have been too good.

Colin Munro is the Player of the Match: "Very pleasing for me, not something I'm used to, gave myself some time. A little bit up and down, but not a shocker. We spoke about trying to play straight, we went across the line and lost wickets. I've evolved in the last 12-18 months, I tried to premeditate in the shorter format, but reacting well. I was owed one (the hit on the wrists), hit Malik on the head."

Sarfraz Ahmed: "We lost too many wickets, and didn't recover for the full match. We assessed the pitch, if we don't have wickets in hand, we did lose. They bowled well. Our bowlers bowled well, if we scored 130-140 it would have been a good match.

Tim Southee: "Winning the toss on that wicket, and taking wickets was the plan. Not your typical Westpac wicket. He has been playing great cricket (Rance), he's shown he's worthy of playing in this team."

15.6Hasan Ali to LRPL Taylor, WIDE, 1 run, dug in and called wide, too high. Munro fails to get to four successive fifties, ends up on 49 not out. But New Zealand take away a 1-0 lead in the T20 series..
15.5Hasan Ali to LRPL Taylor, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, 136 kph, full delivery outside off, Taylor leans into a drive and caresses it away through cover for four. One to win, Munro needs one for the record. A block coming up?.
15.4Hasan Ali to LRPL Taylor, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, 132 kph, another boundary. Short around off, Taylor stands tall and pulls over midwicket for another boundary. Too easy, just five required, Munro needs one.
15.3Hasan Ali to LRPL Taylor, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, Taylor's area, on off and middle, slogged away over midwicket.
15.2Hasan Ali to LRPL Taylor, No run, 133 kph, good length outside off, pushed away towards extra cover. The field has been brought up to stop the run.
15.1Hasan Ali to C Munro, 1 run, 131 kph, good length outside off, punched to deep cover to move to 49.
End of over 15. 3 runs this over. 92/3 after 90 balls.
C Munro 48 (42b 3x4 2x6 ) Shadab Khan 4-0-18-1
LRPL Taylor 10 (9b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 14. 9 runs this over. 89/3 after 84 balls.
LRPL Taylor 9 (8b 0x4 0x6 ) Rumman Raees 4-0-24-2
C Munro 47 (37b 3x4 2x6 ) more
End of over 13. 14 runs this over. 80/3 after 78 balls.
C Munro 39 (33b 3x4 1x6 ) Mohammad Nawaz 1-0-14-0
LRPL Taylor 8 (6b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 12. 8 runs this over. 66/3 after 72 balls.
LRPL Taylor 6 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) Faheem Ashraf 1-0-8-0
C Munro 27 (29b 2x4 0x6 ) more

Sharad S: "I like Munro's approach here.. He knows that this is a tricky target against a strong bowling attack so he is taking his time by applying himself rather than going hammer and tongs at it.. Shows that he has matured a lot.."

End of over 11. 1 runs this over. 58/3 after 66 balls.
C Munro 25 (27b 2x4 0x6 ) Shadab Khan 3-0-16-1
LRPL Taylor 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more

Ganesh: "What a masterstroke it was from the NZ management to make Munro open in India ever since he has been given the responsibility he has just been terrific. "

End of over 10. 12 runs this over. 57/2 after 60 balls.
TC Bruce 26 (21b 3x4 1x6 ) Hasan Ali 2-0-14-0
C Munro 24 (22b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 9. 11 runs this over. 45/2 after 54 balls.
TC Bruce 24 (19b 3x4 1x6 ) Shadab Khan 2-0-15-0
C Munro 14 (18b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 8. 2 runs this over. 34/2 after 48 balls.
TC Bruce 14 (16b 2x4 0x6 ) Hasan Ali 1-0-2-0
C Munro 13 (15b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 7. 4 runs this over. 32/2 after 42 balls.
C Munro 13 (15b 0x4 0x6 ) Shadab Khan 1-0-4-0
TC Bruce 12 (10b 2x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 6. 7 runs this over. 28/2 after 35 balls.
C Munro 10 (10b 0x4 0x6 ) Rumman Raees 3-0-15-2
TC Bruce 11 (8b 2x4 0x6 ) more

The physio is out. Munro is at least sitting up as he is being treated. Warm applause around the ground as he gets up, puts on his gear and gets ready to bat again

End of over 5. 5 runs this over. 19/2 after 29 balls.
C Munro 7 (7b 0x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Amir 3-0-11-0
TC Bruce 6 (5b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 4. 6 runs this over. 14/2 after 24 balls.
TC Bruce 5 (3b 1x4 0x6 ) Rumman Raees 2-0-8-2
C Munro 4 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 3. 3 runs this over. 8/1 after 18 balls.
GD Phillips 3 (9b 0x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Amir 2-0-6-0
C Munro 3 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 2. 2 runs this over. 5/1 after 12 balls.
GD Phillips 1 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) Rumman Raees 1-0-2-1
C Munro 2 (2b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 1. 3 runs this over. 3/0 after 6 balls.
MJ Guptill 2 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Amir 1-0-3-0
C Munro 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) more
MJ GuptillC Mohammad Nawaz B Rumman Raees2560033.33
C Munronot out 49724332113.95
GD PhillipsB Rumman Raees310110027.27
TC BruceC Fakhar Zaman B Shadab Khan26332231118.18
LRPL Taylornot out 22241330169.23
AK Kitchen -
C de Grandhomme -
MJ Santner -
TG Southee -
IS Sodhi -
SHA Rance -
Total 106/3
Mohammad Amir3.001304.33
Rumman Raees4.002426
Shadab Khan4.001814.5
Hasan Ali2.502809.88
Faheem Ashraf1.00808
Mohammad Nawaz1.0014014