Match Over - Bangladesh won by 45 runs + Match Details

Match Details

  • Toss: Bangladesh, who chose to bat
  • Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo
  • Referee: AJ Pycroft
  • When: 06 Apr 2017, 15:30 SAST
  • Winner: Bangladesh
  • Man of the Match: Shakib Al Hasan


  • Umpire1: RSA Palliyaguruge
  • Umpire2: REJ Martinesz
  • Third Umpire: RR Wimalasiri



Overs: 18.0 / 20.0

Sri Lanka



Overs: 20.0 / 20.0


11pm Tharanga and Mashrafe share the trophy. Hope you enjoyed this series as much as we did bringing it yo you. I'll leave you with when an old cricketer leaves the crease....Goodbye and good night

10.45pm Presentation:

Shakib, Man of the Match: I thought it was a very good wicket,and upfront we bowled really well. We took pace off the ball and took early wickets. We don't play much T20s with the national team, there are areas to improve with the bat, ball, and even in the field. It has been a fantastic series for the team. The boys put their hands up and showed a lot of character. Mashrafe is very special, I can't explain in words how important he was to his team. Obviously, he will playing a big role in the ODI team.

Malinga, Man of the series: First three overs I did not get wickets but I realised the slower balls would be useful in the end. I am not that fit and because of the knee injury don't know about playing longer formats in the future.

Mashrafe: The series has been fantastic. The one-dayers and T20s have been fantastic. Big thanks to the boys. I think to finish up with a win is a great thing. I am feeling proud to have played with these boys and the support staff. Big thanks to my cricket board and my family.

Tharanga: It is disappointing. We did not get a good start and unfortunately lost five wickets in the first six overs. Shakib bowled really well and used his variations. He has played around T20 leagues and used his experience well. We have to be consistent to win more games.

10.30pm Mashrafe leads his team off the field for the last time in T20 internationals. His side has ended a eight-match losing streak in T20Is. Mashrafe bagged a golden duck, dropped a catch, missed a run-out chance, but still has the happy ending. Shakib and Mustafiz, though, stepped up with the ball, claiming seven wickets between them to derail Sri Lanka's 177 chase. Sri Lanka lost five wickets in the Powerplay, and from thereon it was always going to be difficult. The Bangladesh bowlers were backed up by some sharp fielding. Malinga's hat-trick - his first in T20Is and fourth in international cricket - was another highlight in the match. So, the T20I series ends 1-1, like the Test and ODI series did.

Joel: "7 matches in 3 different formats and they couldn't be separated, what a great series for the neutral!"

Yasser Arafat: "a gift for Mash! What a player for Bangladesh."

17.6Mohammad Saifuddin to JRMVB Sanjaya, OUT, No run, Bangladesh send-off Mashrafe with a series-levelling victory. Mashrafe takes his cap off and takes hugs from his team-mates. Another sliced hit and long-off gets under this. Saifuddin, meanwhile, does the star man pose Ă  la Afridi.
17.5Mohammad Saifuddin to JRMVB Sanjaya, 2 runs, full on off, another sliced hit over extra cover.
17.4Mohammad Saifuddin to JRMVB Sanjaya, BOUNDARY, 4 runs, short and wide outside off, Sanjaya carves it over extra cover and gets a four.
17.3Mohammad Saifuddin to KMDN Kulasekara, 1 run, off-stump yorker, driven to long-off.
17.2Mohammad Saifuddin to KMDN Kulasekara, No run,
17.1Mohammad Saifuddin to KMDN Kulasekara, No run, full and angling into the leg stump, hits the pad, sliding down leg.
End of over 17. 5 runs this over. 124/9 after 102 balls.
SL Malinga 0 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 3-0-21-4
KMDN Kulasekara 1 (2b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 16. 8 runs this over. 119/7 after 96 balls.
KMDN Kulasekara 0 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) Mashrafe Mortaza 4-0-30-1
CK Kapugedera 46 (33b 4x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 15. 5 runs this over. 111/6 after 90 balls.
S Prasanna 8 (8b 0x4 0x6 ) Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-24-3
CK Kapugedera 41 (31b 3x4 1x6 ) more

Narayanan: "so Mashrafe, duck, catch drop, run out miss, no wkts. What an anti climax !!"

End of over 14. 7 runs this over. 106/6 after 84 balls.
CK Kapugedera 40 (28b 3x4 1x6 ) Mashrafe Mortaza 3-0-22-0
S Prasanna 5 (5b 0x4 0x6 ) more

Kapu seems to have hurt himself with a full-length dive. He gets some treatment from the support staff

End of over 13. 5 runs this over. 99/6 after 78 balls.
S Prasanna 1 (1b 0x4 0x6 ) Shakib Al Hasan 3-0-20-3
CK Kapugedera 37 (26b 3x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 12. 13 runs this over. 94/5 after 72 balls.
NLTC Perera 25 (20b 3x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Saifuddin 2-0-17-0
CK Kapugedera 35 (24b 3x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 11. 9 runs this over. 81/5 after 66 balls.
NLTC Perera 19 (17b 2x4 0x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 2-0-16-2
CK Kapugedera 28 (21b 2x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 10. 4 runs this over. 72/5 after 60 balls.
NLTC Perera 17 (15b 2x4 0x6 ) Mohammad Saifuddin 1-0-4-0
CK Kapugedera 21 (17b 1x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 9. 9 runs this over. 68/5 after 54 balls.
NLTC Perera 15 (13b 2x4 0x6 ) Mahmudullah 2-0-15-1
CK Kapugedera 19 (13b 1x4 1x6 ) more
End of over 8. 5 runs this over. 59/5 after 48 balls.
NLTC Perera 14 (11b 2x4 0x6 ) Mehedi Hasan Miraz 2-0-15-0
CK Kapugedera 11 (9b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 7. 7 runs this over. 54/5 after 42 balls.
NLTC Perera 11 (7b 2x4 0x6 ) Mashrafe Mortaza 2-0-15-0
CK Kapugedera 9 (7b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 6. 3 runs this over. 43/5 after 35 balls.
NLTC Perera 2 (3b 0x4 0x6 ) Mustafizur Rahman 1-0-3-2
CK Kapugedera 7 (4b 1x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 5. 6 runs this over. 40/3 after 30 balls.
CK Kapugedera 7 (4b 1x4 0x6 ) Mahmudullah 1-0-6-1
DAS Gunaratne 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 4. 11 runs this over. 34/2 after 24 balls.
WU Tharanga 17 (16b 2x4 0x6 ) Mehedi Hasan Miraz 1-0-10-0
CK Kapugedera 7 (3b 1x4 0x6 ) more

Bilal: "Really rooting for Kapu to do well here. The Rohit Sharma of SL cricket. Immense talent but never got going. It's never too late, and hope he comes good today."

End of over 3. 6 runs this over. 21/2 after 17 balls.
WU Tharanga 12 (12b 1x4 0x6 ) Shakib Al Hasan 2-0-13-2
CK Kapugedera 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 2. 8 runs this over. 15/1 after 12 balls.
WU Tharanga 11 (10b 1x4 0x6 ) Mashrafe Mortaza 1-0-8-0
EMDY Munaweera 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more
End of over 1. 7 runs this over. 7/1 after 6 balls.
WU Tharanga 3 (4b 0x4 0x6 ) Shakib Al Hasan 1-0-7-1
EMDY Munaweera 0 (0b 0x4 0x6 ) more
MDKJ PereraB Shakib Al Hasan4210200
EMDY MunaweeraC Mahmudullah B Shakib Al Hasan4310133.33
WU TharangaC Mehedi Hasan Miraz B Mahmudullah232130109.52
CK KapugederaC Mehedi Hasan Miraz B Mustafizur Rahman503551142.86
DAS GunaratneC Mosaddek Hossain B Mustafizur Rahman0100-
TAM SiriwardanaC Soumya Sarkar B Mustafizur Rahman0100-
NLTC PereraSt. Mushfiqur Rahim Shakib Al Hasan272330117.39
S PrasannaB Mashrafe Mortaza111100100
KMDN Kulasekaranot out 250040
SL MalingaB Mustafizur Rahman0300-
JRMVB SanjayaC Mahmudullah B Mohammad Saifuddin6310200
Total 131/10
Shakib Al Hasan4.002436
Mashrafe Mortaza4.003017.5
Mehedi Hasan Miraz2.001507.5
Mustafizur Rahman3.002147
Mohammad Saifuddin3.002418