About CSA

Corporate Information

About Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.

It initially operated under the name of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB) which came into being on June 29, 1991, following completion of the unity process between the South African Cricket Union (SACU) and the South African Cricket Board (SACB).

It changed its name to CSA in 2005.

CSA Presidents since unity:

1991-92: Geoff Dakin

1992-1998: Krish Mackerdhuj

1998-2000: Ray White

2000-2003: Percy Sonn

2003-2007: Ray Mali

2007-2008: Norman Arendse

2008-2011: Dr. Mtutuzeli Nyoka

2011-12: AK Khan (acting)

2012-13: Dr. Willie Basson (acting)

2013 onwards: Chris Nenzani


1991-2000: Dr. Ali Bacher

2000-2012: Gerald Majola

2012-13: Jacques Faul (acting)

2013: Naasei Appiah (acting)

2013 onwards: Haroon Lorgat

National captains:

1991: Clive Rice (ODI only)

1992-1994: Kepler Wessels

1994-2000: Hansie Cronje

2000-2003: Shaun Pollock

2003-2014: Graeme Smith

2011: AB de Villiers became captain of the limited overs squads

2013: Faf du Plessis became captain of the T20 squad

2014-2016: Hashim Amla

2016 onwards: AB de Villiers

National coaches:

1991-1994: Mike Procter

1994-1999: Bob Woolmer

1999-2002: Graeme Ford

2002-2004: Eric Simons

2004-2005: Ray Jennings

2005-2010: Mickey Arthur

2010-2011: Corrie van Zyl

2011-2013: Gary Kirsten

2013 onwards: Russell Domingo